Iconic Photos

Famous, Infamous and Iconic Photos

The Queen and her Prime Ministers

with 2 comments


1985. The Queen at 10 Downing Street to celebrate 250 years of it being the official residence of the British Prime Minister, with those who occupied the most famous address in the world. From left to right James Callaghan, Sir Alec Douglas-Home, Margaret Thatcher, Harold Macmillan, HRH, Harold Wilson and Ted Heath.


April 29th 2002: Queen began her Golden Jubilee celebrations with a special 10 Downing Street dinner party with Tony Blair and past prime ministers. From left to right, Tony Blair, Baroness Thatcher, Sir Edward Heath, HRH, Lord Callaghan, and John Major.

In 54 years on the throne the Queen has had eleven prime ministers: Churchill, Eden, Macmillan, Douglas-Home, Wilson, Heath, Wilson (again), Callaghan, Thatcher, Major, Blair, Brown. The first, Winston Churchill, was 77 when she became Queen, and had been 20 years her father’s senior. Tony Blair was born only four weeks before the Coronation.

Written by Alex Selwyn-Holmes

June 14, 2009 at 2:09 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just as a note, The Queen is not a “HRH” (her royal highness), she is a “HM” (her majesty). Completely unimportant as it is, just thought I’d share.


    February 8, 2010 at 6:31 am

  2. A minor point of pedantry: If you’re going to abbreviate the Queen, the she would be referred to as ‘Her Majesty’ or HM, not HRH, which is used for the other Royals.


    April 8, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: